top of page
  • Ian Black

Catrigg Finished

After a hiatus of a couple of weeks, with a very enjoyable break in the wonderfully seductive Cornwall where the light is truly inspiring, I was left thoroughly re-invigorated to crack on with the painting of Catrigg. The first image is how I left the painting before the fortnight away, and I thought the image was too flat and lacked interest; prior to going away my lad and I took another stroll up to the waterfall armed with the camera once again for some fill-in shots with some different plays of light.


So this was the painting how I left it before the break, although completely satisfied with the composition and layout I felt it needed an extra something.


The premise for the painting was to capture the magical, mysterious, ethereal quality of the place and to imagine it as it must have seemed to my daughter when she saw it for the first time some years ago when she was 8. Even now, as a teenager the place still enthuses a dreamlike ambiance for her, and all those who visit.


It is said to have been one of Edward Elgar’s favourite spots in the Dales when he came to visit his friends in Settle and who can argue with its inspirational attributes, as it’s given me just cause to paint it a number of times.





The painting will be available in the Gallery soon.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page